Wow! Only a few more days and I will be out of my first trimester! I still can't believe I'm pregnant! I NEVER thought I'd ever be in this situation! So I just wanted to recapture some of the exciting, weird, and NOT exciting moments!
Let's start with the week I found out I was pregnant. August 23rd I was at work and I just felt different. I had the feeling something was just different. I even remember telling some of my co-workers, "I feel like my life is about to change." I wasn't nauseated and I didn't have any breast tenderness. . . nothing but merely a feeling. One of my co-workers went and bought me a pregnancy test because she was hoping so bad that I was pregnant. I took the test and it was negative. I have to admit I was a little upset partly because I felt like I was crazy. I mean here I am telling people I feel different but I couldn't explain it further. I also remember calling my mother and telling her that something was up. So... later that day I'm walking down the hall and another co-worker stops me, now keep in mind I didn't talk to this co-worker much at all. She sure didn't know anything. Anyway, I'm walking down the hall, she stops me, grabs my arm, smiles and says, "Are you pregnant?" I laughed and said, "Why?" She responded and said, "Well, your face is different, you just have a glow." I thought she was crazy but that was a cute thought! Two days later on August 25th I woke up and felt like I needed to eat but I needed to get groceries. I made a grocery list for the entire week. I remember walking through the store and the first place I stopped was the pharmacy. I bought two different brands of pregnancy tests. Then I was off to buy food. . . Yeah that did NOT go well. Everything I looked at I wanted to throw up. Needless to say for a whole week I ended up leaving with two frozen meals. . . that's it. I did not want a THING! I got home and put my two meals up and went straight to the bathroom. I opened my CHEAP pregnancy test first. . . I peed on that one and then held my urine "just in case." The test showed a faint line that I was pregnant but I was unsure so I then opened the digital expensive test. . . (Glad I held my urine) I peed on that one. . . waited the 3 minutes as I paced back and forth. . . to find out it said, "Pregnant." I was honestly so happy I couldn't stand it. . . I wanted to cry, but couldn't, so I jumped up and down. I sent Lee a text message because he was in class. He responded with, "YAY, are you excited?" The next couple of weeks our family and friends found out and Most people were happy for us!
I started having some crazy dreams. I had one dream of being able to breastfeed right away with no problem and another dream of not being able to breastfeed. I've had sexual dreams more than ever and by the way I never have sex dreams! I had a dream of a family member dying in a motorcycle wreck, I had a dream of putting a hole puncher in my pocket and later thinking it was the baby's leg. Pregnancy dreams are crazy and very vivid!
On to the not so exciting time during my first trimester. . .
I was about 8 weeks pregnant and I noticed some light pink spotting. I immediatley called my friend Amanda, my mother, and my assistant manager, Jackie. I told them what was going on and was told everything was probably ok but if it would make me feel better to go to the emergency room and get checked. Here I go. . . to the ER. My inprocessing was GREAT! The nurse that triaged me was so nice and explained everything! However, once I got to the room I was treated as if I was some cheap ass army wife who slept around on her husband. You will see why shortly. The doctor tried to do a bedside ultrasound and I could tell he wasn't very experienced as it took him 15 minutes to tell me everything was ok. While he was in the process of doing the ultrasound he kept huffing and puffing and I assume he was just frustrated. But of course it didn't make me feel any better. After that he told me he wanted to do a vaginal exam to check and make sure everything was ok. So, of course I agreed.
After the pelvic exam he walks into the room and tells me he suspects and STD. I know I looked at him like he had two heads I told him, "Sir you don't understand that's not possible. My husband and I are monogamous." He said, "Well sometimes these things can go undetected for a while." He tells me, "Your discharge was thick and I recommend you get antibioticsto prevent any complications." Of course, I'm freaking out thinking HOW THE HELL did I end up with an STD. . . and I agreed to the antibiotics. The nurse walks in and I tell her my concerns and I tell her, "I'm pretty sure I don't have an STD." She proceeds to tell me that I probably don't but that this doctor has misdiagnosed 3-4 people who actually had an STD in the past month and that he was probably just being cautious. I took a shot in my ass of Rocephin and I had to drink this horrible Zithromax! DISGUSTING! When the doctor came back in I asked him what color my discharge was(Because I already knew my body- I wanted to see what he would say) He told me, "It was yellow and --- he hesitated here- greenish" I looked at him and said, "Really?" He said yes and walked out of the room.
Now, I work in health care and I KNOW what an STD looks like, smells like, and I know that if you suspect a person has an STD you are supposed to tell them that they need to inform their partner for possible treatment. Did he give me any of this advice? NO! He told me if I had an STD the test results would be mailed to me. HA! What a way to find out? And by the way people. . . my discharge was CLEAR, not yellow or green!
Needless to say, I worried sick. And had horrible diarrhea all weekend- RUINED by weekend by the way! I couldn't eat without shitting in my pants! I couldn't sleep without having to run to the bathroom. All because of an antibiotic I did NOT need.
Needless to say, I ended up following up with my doctor for my 11 week appointment and she informed me I was treated unneccessarily. She said, "Lauren, You didn't even have the slightest bit of a UTI." "All of your tests came back negative." She then informed me that when you become pregnant your discharge becomes thicker and that does not suggest anything is wrong. She apologized for the way I was treated and told me that it was unnecessary treatment. So, this NEW Emergency room doctor may need a lesson or two on pregnancy!
So, no I do not/have not had an STD! Ignorant doctor! Needless to say the first trimester has been one of happiness, scariness, and emotional drama. I'm hoping the next three months there will be less drama and more happiness!
Ending on a good note: My last appointment the baby's heart beat was in the 160's and we were considered healthy and doing really well!
No comments:
Post a Comment